From One Adventure to the Next… Cleanse after Europe

23 Jul

I have to admit, I have never done a cleanse before but it always intrigued me. From juice cleanses to a liver cleanses to the master cleanse – there are SO many different types of cleanses that all aim to do about the same thing: clean out your system and start nourishing it properly. 

There doesn’t seem like any better time to start my first cleanse than right now after all of my European food adventures! Although the food was indeed healthier and fresher than food I would get in America, it still doesn’t make up for the fact that I ate out every single meal every day for 6 weeks straight. It is pretty disgusting to think about. Not to mention that I drank almost every night – hey, the Europeans love their glass of wine (or two!) at dinner. 

Melissa, who is one of my good friends and also in CHAARG, came on the traveling study abroad program with me and we soon discovered that we have about the same outlook on nutrition and exercise. Although we had the goal of “working out” while abroad, it was not fulfilled to the slightest, besides the immense amount of walking we did, and that’s okay! We wanted to enjoy Europe to the fullest and not feel guilty eating all the delicious pastries, cheese, and chocolates it has to offer. Towards the end of the trip, we were itching to get back to the gym and starting devising a workout and nutrition plan that we are going to start up a couple weeks after Europe (this will be the 100 Day CHAARG Challenge…you’ll here more about it soon). First though, we thought a cleanse would be a great starting point to put us on track to reach all of our nutrition and fitness goals, as well as cleaning the crap out of our colon!

Partaking in a cleanse is great to do 1-2 times a year. Cleanses are not a “diet” or anything you should stick to for a long period of time. It’s a way to flush out the toxins in your system and give your body a fresh start! We are not planning on exercising much, if at all, during the cleanse because I have a feeling we are going to be pretty weak! Instead of exercising, I am going to use the time to exercise my mind – read a book, watch a documentary, clean my room, etc. Anything to keep my mind off food :) We are going to tell you exactly what we did so that YOU can join us on the cleanse too if you’re interested! We got this cleanse from a fellows FitFluential Ambassador, the Sweaty Betties. Check out their page and give them a like on facebook!

Before you start, you’ll need to buy some supplements! All of these can be found at any Vitamin shop and it does not matter the brand.

1. Liver Cleanse Tabletsget ones that contain Choline and Milk Thistle

2. Super Enzymescontaining: betaine, papain, pepsin, bromelain, amylase, protease, lipase, and papaya

3. Probiotics

4. Psyllium Powder/Fiber

Elisabeth's supplements Melissa's supplements

DAY 1 (**OPTIONAL):

lemon water only – at least one gallon

liver cleanse pills – 2x a day

super enzymes and probiotics – 3x a day

unlimited tea! (make sure its unsweetened, of course)

Elisabeth: It’s 9:30 PM and shockingly, I am doing okay! My stomach growled only once (haha) and I even managed to purchase all of my raw veggies for tomorrow without feeling like I needed to gnaw my finger off. I have drank a little more than a gallon of lemon water (…..and peed about 8 times today, no joke) and I’ve had two cups of tea – both of which were DELICIOUS. One was a green tea and the other was peppermint licorice. The natural flavors from the licorice made the tea sweet and I would have never guessed that it was unsweetened tea if I hadn’t of known beforehand. I highly recommend it! Both teas were from Luck Bros – the coffee shop that I’m obsessed with. As for my “functioning” I am really sleepy, probably due to low energy because I had A LOT of sleep last night. I also have a slight headache right now, which the Sweaty Betties said would be a side effect, because I didn’t have my usual cup (or two!) of coffee. Part of me wanted to keep my daily cup of black coffee in the cleanse but I told myself that if I am going to do this, I’m going to do it right. I will just have to drink more caffeinated tea! The supplements have been easy to take down. We will see what I have to say about the fiber powder tomorrow, apparently it’s brutal! I’m pumped that there has been so much interest on the cleanse! Peter is joining me tomorrow (he skipped the optional fast day) and my mom and dad are starting the cleanse tomorrow as well. I’m interested to compare everyone’s feelings and if there will be a difference according to age and/or gender. I’ll keep you posted! 

Melissa: Well I woke up and I’m not even kidding I think I had a dream about how I wasn’t going to be eating all day.  I LOVE FOOD so the thought of this was not too pleasant, but it’s not going too bad so far!  It’s about 6:00 pm as I’m writing this post, and all I’ve had today two cups of tea, and about a liter of lemon water…not kidding. I woke up at around 10, Sunday is for sleeping in, and I told myself not to think about food at ALL!  I finally had a cup of Ginger Tea around 12:00, and that suppressed my appetite for about 2 hours, believe it or not!  With the tea, I took the Super Digestive Enzymes, Liver Support, and a Probiotic.  At around 2:00 I headed outside with a pitcher of lemon water to sit in the sun and read Fifty Shades Darker, and let me tell you if you’re ever doing a cleanse, read a good book to distract you from your hunger!  I didn’t move until about 4:15 because I realized I was getting a little bit sleepy!  Oh PS, the lemon water is actually so good!  I squeezed half a lemon into a pitcher of water then dropped the half of the lemon in to let it release some more juices!  After realizing I was tired, I headed in and made a cup of Apple tea this time, and took the second set of the Digestive Enzyme and Probiotics.  I read more and more of the book, because you just cannot put this book down!  At around 5 ish I realized I was slowlyyy getting hungry, so I’m just trying to do things to distract myself!  I’m going to walk my dogs with my mom, then come back and probably clean my messy room that has clothes scattered all over it from unpacking from Europe.  The hardest part of my night will be the fact that I am writing up some nutrition plans for some people I’m training, so I’m going to have to think about food…uh oh.  But I will just keep drinking my tea and lemon water until the raw veggies tomorrow!  I still have another set of the Digestive Enzymes, Probiotics, and my second Liver Support today, so I’ll do that probably around 8 or 9.  I will say I feel a little loopy, probably because my blood sugar is naturally lower from not eating, but I keep reassuring myself that my organs are loving this because they need to balance out without any toxins coming in!  Anyone who wants to do this cleanse-DO IT!  I love it so far because I know my body will come out feeling awesome.  I am advising all of the people I train to try it at some point, and I even convinced my mom to start it in a few days!  Until the raw veggie experience tomorrow, Happy Sunday!

Have you ever done a cleanse before? If so, what one? How did you feel during your cleanse, or more importantly, how did you feel after?

We’ll leave you with a couple of our tea pictures! -Elisabeth

5 Responses to “From One Adventure to the Next… Cleanse after Europe”

  1. smltwngrl920 July 23, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    Very nice post!
    Its smltwngrl920 from twitter

    http://mylifewithweighloss.wordpress.com/

  2. Miz July 23, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    I’ve never ever ever cleansed. Yet :-) who knows what you’ll inspire….

  3. Christine @ Love, Life, Surf July 23, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

    I’ve never done a cleanse before but am super curious about it and love hearing about your experience so far. My stomach is grumbling just thinking about it! ;-)

    • CHAARG July 25, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

      You really should try this one! I think it’s a good cleanse to start with because it incorporates FOOD besides day 1 which is optional! Dooooo it :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CHAARG girls have a LIVER changing experience. « E&E: CHAARG - November 21, 2012

    [...] —> If you would like to try out the 5 Day Raw Food Cleanse that Elisabeth and Melissa tried out this summer [they highly recommend it!], here is the link: Cleanse After Europe [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,920 other followers

