Magazines, Schmagazines.

10 Aug

Body Image and The Media

ELISABETH: I have a really good idea in my head but like Janice I am so exhausted that I don’t have the energy write it out. I know I’ll be disappointed if I write it now because it just won’t do justice. When I write it, it’s going to be good. And it’s going to be controversial, so get ready. I’ll give you one hint –> fitspo. That’s all!  

As for today’s post, I think I’m just going to rant. Body image and the media…frankly I am getting kind of tired about always hearing about this topic, because lets admit it – it gets talked about alot. And it is usually the same old thing whether it’s about photoshop, models that are too skinny, or the famous articles “do this for 7 days and you’ll achieve a slimmer body!”

I. DON’T. CARE. 

As much as I love magazines [trust me I'm obsessed with a lot of them], some of these articles are just garbage. YES things are photoshopped, YES models are too skinny, and HECK NO you will not get slimmer doing 5 “ab” exercises for 7 days while eating McDonalds and suddenly BOOM you are skinnier. I’m sorry, lady.

I have always wanted to do an experiment where I would do exactly as it said in an article – whether it was fitness related ["2 weeks to the NEW YOU!"] or food related ["3 Day Slim Down"] and see what my results would be. Especially articles where they are like “Do this to lose 5 lbs, this for 10 lbs, and this for 15 lbs.”

UM LADY, I USUALLY GAIN WEIGHT WHEN I WORK OUT.

I’m not kidding! GOOD WEIGHT – STRONG WEIGHT. I could tell you a million times that muscle weighs more than fat, and only 10% truly believe it. Even, telling you this now, I admit to sometimes falling back into the trap of thinking that I need to “lose weight.” I need someone to slap me across my face when I say that because it is not about losing weight, it’s about losing fat. I wish I could be one of those people who had no idea what their weight was. I don’t own a scale so I definitely don’t check it much, but I know my range. In some ways though I do think it is a good thing to know your weight. Especially when people are trying to lose FAT weight. It helps to track things down.

I will leave you with this picture. I took this before my cleanse to see if there was a before or after difference. I felt so gross and fat because I had just gotten back from 2 months of not working out and CARB OVERLOAD [so good though, I want that Italian pizza again!] Looking at this picture now I think hey, I look pretty good for not having worked out at all [AND I'M THINKING,EMILY DO NOT PUT A PICTURE OF YOUR ABS ON HERE...THANK YOU] I have curves but who cares I AM A WOMAN. I’m showing you this because it shows that I have my insecurities, too. Everyone always strives for that “unattainable perfect body” and you know what, you are unfortunately never going to get it. You may get pretty damn close but something SOMEWHERE on your body is going to bug you from time to time. Even MIZFIT (my role model) has her insecurities, and if she doesn’t then she is perfect just like I believe she is :) 

I’m not sure where this post led to but I encourage each and everyone one of you to truly LOVE YOURSELF. YOU ARE WORTH IT. YOU ARE ENOUGH. [shout out to my Kairos girls LG2]

Leaving you with this last quote which IRONICALLY [or not...] I found on MizFit’s page…

BE WEIRD. BE RANDOM. BE WHO YOU ARE…BECAUSE YOU NEVER KNOW WHO WOULD LOVE THE PERSON YOU HIDE.

EMILY:  Such a hot topic for a post! Well I absolutely agree with Elisabeth where honestly this topic is exhausting and it’s old news to me. But the media still goes nuts when it comes to how you should feel and look about yourself. The body image industry makes how many millions of dollars a year? Think about every time you buy makeup, shampoo, face cleansers, magical weight loss pills and the list goes on and on; ALL OF THOSE PRODUCTS revolve around you wanting to feel better about yourself.  To be honest, there is probably a cure to acne, or is one coming in the bright future, but if that cure ever got on the market; think of all of the businesses that would be over.  Neutrogena would have a freaking heart attack. It’s a competition. And we have to accept that we are always going to be in the middle of this huge battle. There’s always going to be the arguement that too many models are too skinny and its unhealthy. There will always be the arguement of what to eat and what not to eat to be in the best shape of your life.

I get it.

But the fact of the matter is, models will continue to be skinny and people will always argue that carbs are the reason to weight gain. What I don’t get it  is people actually let the media affect how they live their life. They truly believe a magazine article about some ridiculous weight loss program or believe that every model is what true beauty is. And if they do, then the media has done their job very well and if those people are silly enough to believe half the garbage put into the media, shame on them. Sorry if I’m being harsh but come on seriously? BUT the good news is, you don’t have to let media affect you. For instance; you’re trying to lose some weight but you keep comparing yourself to a model and can’t be happy with the current progress you’ve made.  Let’s face it, they are photoshopped or just naturally super skinny. And you have to remind yourself of that! Yea it’s easier said than done. Every girl wants to feel amazing and gorgeous about themselves. We all do! But my advice is just don’t use the media as your comparison to love yourself. Here’s a video to show why.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iYhCn0jf46U

The media is kind of scary with how it can influence you, but when you take a second to step back and realize it doesn’t have to affect you at all; trust me you will already start to feel better about yourself. I know it’s easy to say love yourself, so if you can’t do that right away because it’s easiersaid than done, take a sec to write down all of the family and friends that make you smile. It’s what I did when I was having an off day about just being self conscious. There’s something about each of them that you love and there’s something about YOU that they love . So .. love that in itself and you can thank me when you try this and you’ve already started to feel a little better about the amazing person that you know you are.

25 Responses to “Magazines, Schmagazines.”

  1. PavementRunner August 10, 2012 at 6:29 am #

    Fantastic Post… love who you are. I run like crazy. Do I have a six pack and am “skinny”… NOPE. But I’m happy with who I am and healthy. Run Long. Run Strong! Keep speaking the truth ladies!

    • CHAARG August 12, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

      THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! <3

  2. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) August 10, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    Great post! The exact thoughts have been on my mind lately particularly with my 13 year old daughter. I’m not perfect but I’m healthier and stronger than ever and actually quite happy with who I am [finally].

  3. MizFit August 10, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    well you KNOW I LOVE THIS :-)
    I truly am a misfit (and why I need to change my site name as the play on words was never on MISS. FIT :)) as mags never impacted me.
    I enjoyed them when I was younger. I enjoy them now at 40+
    Somehow I always just knew they, like movies and TV, were not reality.

    xoxo

  4. Happy Fit Mama (@happyfitmama) August 10, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    Absolutely right! Be the best possible YOU!

  5. Lindsay (@LeanGrnBeanBlog) August 10, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    you girls are both beautiful! i’m so proud of everything you’re doing with CHAARG. you’re inspiring hundreds of girls at ohio state and giving them opportunities and support that they might not otherwise get. keep doing what you’re doing. you’re both going places and are going to do great things!

    • CHAARG August 12, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

      THANK YOU so much lindsay! Those kind words mean a lot to us :)

  6. Kierston August 10, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    I like mags for entertainment. I don’t let them influence me on what I should be like.

    I am me, not anyone else :) Always be true to yourself :)

    • CHAARG August 12, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

      Damn straight girl! <3 true to YOU!

  7. Heather @ Side of Sneakers August 10, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    “You never know who will love the person you hide” <—LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    • CHAARG August 12, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

      :) ME TOO! It is SO true.

  8. Maureen August 10, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    I must admit, I DO love fitness magazines. But I also have realistic views on how the workouts will help me. I know that after a month of doing the circuit training plan I ripped out of my Women’s Health mag I will NOT look like the model in the article. It does scare me what these magazines do to the minds of young girls who do not realize how photo shopped the pictures are.

    • CHAARG August 12, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

      I LOVEEEEE fitness mags too! I especially love the recipes because I DO believe that most of those are generally healthy and nutritious!

  9. Christine August 10, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    This is a great post. Media and branding and messages and images are so pervasive that it IS often hard to tell how they are influencing our lives. I agree with the crazy magazine stories about 5 days to a new you or whatever because it makes me feel like a failure if I follow their plan and I’m not a new me.

    However, I will say this. I had a chance to participate in a leg makeover project for one big health/fitness magazine earlier this year. It was a 4 week project. We did a 20 min leg workout (not high intensity or anything just plain old leg exercises) 3/week (twice with a trainer, once on our own) and I did see a difference. It wasn’t huge and dramatic but there was a change.

    • CHAARG August 12, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      That is interesting Christine, thanks for bringing it up! I do believe that if the “makeover” articles were more similar to the one you participated in (3x a week, for 4 weeks) it WOULD produce greater results. The problem is most of the magazines advertise makeovers that will result in days, or two weeks TOPS.

  10. Carrie August 10, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    Fantastic post! I’m finding that the more I appreciate my own body and all it’s flaws, the less I care about the images in the media.

    • CHAARG August 12, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

      Agreed Carrie :) spread SELF love <3

  11. Ericka Andersen August 10, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

    Another great post. Um, yeah, you look better than great for not having worked out (actually, it looks like you’ve been working out). The Dove video was eye opening as well, also lead me to a few other revealing videos about photoshop so … wow. It can be so extreme! –Ericka @ The Sweet Life (sweetlifeericka.com)

    • CHAARG August 12, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

      haha THANK YOU ERICKA! :) but I know I wish photoshop went out of business. I don’t mind if magazines only show “fit” or “skinny” people, but please don’t show us FAKE people. That’s just not right.

  12. Danielle (@Clean Food Creative Fitness) August 10, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    What a fabulous post! I do think that magazines and the media can be very misleading at times! I think they can also alter our opinion of beauty and normalcy, when I think the key is really to be who you are and embrace it!

    • CHAARG August 12, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

      Completely agree with you Danielle! They do alter our opinion of beauty. Even just simple things such as fashion – not related at all to fitness. I have to admit that I fall into that category. I constantly get swayed into certain fashionable trends. It is so interesting how the media works!

  13. Katie @wishandwhimsy August 10, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Great encouragement. Be you. Be the real you. Don’t hide you, love you. I’ve heard the reason that media puts numbers on everything is because it sells more (think 7 Days to Slim Down, 42 Reasons You’re Not Losing Weight, 29 Fat Burning Moves, etc.) People seem to buy into numbers because they seem them as measurable. What sounds more appealing “42 Reasons You’re Not Losing Weight” or “Some Reasons You’re Not Losing Weight”? The numbers seem to quantify and qualify. I’m not saying at ALL that this is right. Numbers are numbers. It’s just a marketing effort I’m tired of!!! Let’s change this media. Let’s be real #PROOF of what FitFluential looks like!!!

    • CHAARG August 12, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      That is a really good point on numbers being measurable – I never thought of that!
      Love that you threw in the #PROOF at the end! LETS DO IT!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bean Bytes - August 11, 2012

    [...] Magazines, Schmagazines via CHAARG [...]

  2. Marvelous in My Monday - August 13, 2012

    [...] E&E Chaarg~Magazines Schmagazines: Great post about magazines and the media’s influence on our self image. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,920 other followers

